Not your competition

You are not my competition. We are not in a battle of who is prettier, skinnier, cuter, who has better hair, who is more feminine. We are not fighting to be “top woman.” This is not a game, not because I don’t like to play, but because I would rather encourage and build you up rather than tear you to shreds for the simple pleasure of being “better” than you.

What pleasure could I possibly get from looking down on someone; from knowing that I belittled not just another woman, but a human being? When you are running through the grocery store looking a mess because you didn’t have time to fix your hair in anything but a messy bun before wrestling your toddler/children into clothes for the day, when he is crying because he didn’t get his nap out and wants to walk on his own, I will not stand there and shake my head at your parenting skills.

I will nod my head in sympathy, possibly even offer my help getting that bottle ready, but I will not judge you because you’re having a mom moment, or because your toddler is throwing a tantrum. We’ve all been there, we’ll all be there.

I’m not battling for the Best Mom in the World award. I’m supporting all mothers to be the best mom to their children lifestyle. That doesn’t mean you aren’t going to snap and get mad at them (because we will), that does not mean they are going to be perfect angels in the store (because they won’t).

We are all people. We are women – some more delicate than others – but still women, and we all deserve to be treated respectfully by both men and women alike. We’ve all loved, we’ve all hurt. I would rather love than hurt, so I’m not going to compete with you. I will encourage you.

About Christina

Hi! My name is Christina. I'm a mom to an amazing little boy and a sweet little girl, Wife, Christian, writer, avid reader, and Librarian. I'm very passionate about life and I hope that my posts may help someone out there who needs a little pick me up or some reassurance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave your thoughts!